Audit Committee

September 20, 2021 City Council Action:

On a roll call 7-2, voted to pass third and final reading of this ordinance amendment, and adopt the ordinance as presented. Assistant Mayor Splaine, Councilors McEachern, Whelan, Lazenby, Kennedy, Trace and Mayor Becksted voted in favor. Councilors Huda and Tabor voted opposed.

Ordinance Amendment, adopted September 20, 2021:



Section 1.414 AUDIT COMMITTEE There shall be a permanent Audit Committee established and maintained for the purpose of advising the City Council on the adherence to the City Charter.


A. Membership and Term: The Audit Committee shall have five (5) voting members who shall be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, two members shall be City Councilors. The City Manager shall be a member of the Committee with voice, non-voting. Audit Committee members, other than the City Councilors, shall possess experience in finance, accounting, auditing, and/or financial management and reporting. All members shall be independent of both City management and any auditing firm which may be under contract with the City. In order to enhance the integrity of the financial reporting, the independence of each member will be maintained throughout the duration of their term on the Audit Committee. In the event of a vacancy in a member position on the Audit Committee, a qualifying individual shall be appointed to fill the remainder of the term of the vacant member.

initial terms of the members of the Committee shall be for three (3) year terms except that the length of the initial terms to be staggered as follows: In year of initial appointment: three (3) members shall be 3-year terms and two (2) members shall be 2- year terms. Thereafter, all members shall serve a term of three (3) years. All members shall be residents of the City of Portsmouth throughout their term on the Audit Committee.

B. Duties and Powers: The primary purpose of the Audit Committee is to recommend an external auditor to the City Council. In the event the auditor identifies any serious exceptions, the Audit Committee shall advise and work with the City council as to next steps.

November 15, 2021 City Council Action:

Voted on a 7-2 roll call to appoint Hawk Furman to an initial 2 year term on the Audit Committee and Christopher White to 3 year term to the Audit Committee.