Portsmouth City Council’s Legislative Subcommittee

Legislative Subcommittee


The Portsmouth City Council’s Legislative Subcommittee reviews and tracks draft legislation and makes recommendations to the City Council to either support or oppose legislation. The Portsmouth City Council has adopted Principles for Legislative Positions that serve as guiding principles for City testimony before the General Court. The subcommittee meets regularly with our Senator and Representatives to review legislation of interest to the City. The Committee is comprised of Mayor Rick Becksted, Councilor Deaglan McEachern, Councilor Esther Kennedy and Councilor Paige Trace, and non-voting members City Manager Karen Conard and her City staff designee, Jane Ferrini. The Legislative Subcommittee meetings and Agenda and minutes are posted on the City’s website and the meetings with our Legislative Delegation are televised on Channel 22.

To view the Legislative Subcommittee’s meeting calendar and Agendas, visit the City's Master Calendar.

To view a list of the bills the Legislative Subcommittee is tracking, click here.

Testimony in Support of Rooms & Meals Tax Distribution Review

Mayor’s letter to Executive Council to authorize working capital warrant #79

NH Officials letter to Speaker Pelosi and Minority Leader McCarthy to support CARES Act funding to municipalities

Election Support Testimony

City opposition to HB 1483: Allowing dogs on open air restaurant patios

City opposition to SB 450: to dogs on brew pub patios

Fire Dept opposition to SB 458: regulation of vacation or short-term rentals

NH Tax Collectors’ Association and NH City and Town Clerks’ Association support of SB 667: maximum optional fee for transportation improvement

City support of SB 616: Creating a committee to study Rooms & Meals Tax distribution formula

City support of HB 1160: Allowing municipalities to collect an occupancy fee

Mayor's support of HB 1650: Establishing a road usage registration fee