Get an Estimate Online Motor Vehicle Renewal
**THE TAX OFFICE IS NOW BY APPOINTMENT ONLY UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE**
FOR THE SAFETY OF BOTH PORTSMOUTH CITIZENS AND CITY STAFF – On January 25th, 2021 the Tax Office went to APPOINTMENT ONLY. The City encourages residents to utilize online payment options, U.S. Mail or the grey box outside of City Hall.
To make an in-person appointment, please contact the Tax Office at: 603-610-7244.
***PLEASE NOTE*** that you can pay your city bills online at https://www.cityofportsmouth.com/city/pay-my-bill. As this is an ever-changing situation, please check the city website for possible updates. E-mails and phone messages will be checked periodically throughout this time.
Visitors with an appointment will be greeted at the front door, with new protocols in place, which include.
- Visitors will be required to wear a cloth mask while in City Hall
- Masks will be provided if the visitor does not bring one.
- If the department the visitor wants to visit is at capacity, that person will be asked to wait in a physical-distancing queue in the Portsmouth Room, adjacent to City Council Chambers.
Proof of Residency for New Residents
Proof of residency is required by the City of Portsmouth and the State of New Hampshire for new residents to register vehicles. We will accept one of the following documents, as long as it is dated within the past 30 days:
- Newly issued NH Drivers license (issued within 30 days--NOT a temporary paper license)
- Utility Bill
- Cable Bill
- Pay Stub
- Lease Agreement (notarized signatures of tenant and landlord or notarized letter from property owner required)
- Envelope with postal forwarded address
- Welcome packet from the post office
For those residents who are NEW to the State of New Hampshire, you will be required to sign a City of Portsmouth "Residency Affidavit" which will be provided to you by the Tax Office at City Hall.
The State relies on the towns and cities to enforce residency; a resident is someone who has, through all of his actions, demonstrated a current intent to designate that place of abode as his principal place of physical presence for the indefinite future to the exclusion of all others (State of NH RSA 21:6). If the City has concerns about your residency, you may not be permitted to register.
In addition to Proof of Residency, the information below is required if you are a new resident in New Hampshire and have a vehicle currently registered out of state:
If you do not have a lien on your vehicle and vehicle is year 2000 or newer:
- Title of vehicle. (All vehicles, including trailers 3,000 lbs. or greater, year 2000 or newer are required to be titled.
- Title application prepared by NH-authorized auto dealership
If you have a lien on your vehicle:
- Current registration issued by your previous State
- Lienholder's name and address
- Date of lien
- Date of sale
Note: If the lien is held by a local NH credit union or bank, please proceed to the local branch to have the title transferred into New Hampshire.
1999 and Older Vehicles and Trailers > 3000 lbs.
- Bill of sale (if newly purchased) or out of state registration in registrant's name AND one of the following:
- Valid title
- Verification of VIN (form 19A)
- Valid New Hampshire registration
Trailers < 3000 lbs.
For more information, please visit:
http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/index.htm or contact the Tax Office at (603) 610-7244.
Residents and Non Residents may register or renew their boats at the City of Portsmouth Tax Office.
- Previously issued registration or
- State of New Hampshire renewal notice/registration form, or
- NH Driver’s License (if renewing an existing boat registration)
New Boat Registration Requirements
- Model Year
- Fuel Type
- Inboard/Outboard designation
- Single or Twin Engine
- Hull Identification Number (1973 & newer must be 12 digits)
- Hull material
If previously registered in NH, you MUST provide the NH Bow Number originally assigned to the boat.
NOTE: By registering or renewing your Boat in the City of Portsmouth, the City of Portsmouth is able to retain 100% of the “Boat Fee” portion of the registration, which would otherwise be paid to the State of New Hampshire (RSA 72-A:5). The remaining “Registration Fee” portion is remitted to the State of New Hampshire
Snowmobile and OHRV (Off Highway Recreational Vehicle) Registrations
New Hampshire residents and non-residents may now register and renew their Snowmobile and OHRV (Off Highway Recreational Vehicle) registrations during regular City Hall business hours. No additional fees apply. Snowmobile registration fees are discounted for members of a New Hampshire snowmobile club by presenting their official voucher (proof of paid membership) for the current registration year.
Registration Fees/Information: http://www.eregulations.com/newhampshire/ohrv/registration-fees/
When registering, the owner:
- Must be at least 18 years of age, present a valid driver's license or non-driver photo ID, and apply in person.
- Must present a valid NH driver's license or NH non-driver photo ID to qualify for resident rates.
- Must provide the following vehicle information: year of manufacture, make, model, displacement (c.c.), primary and second colors, and VIN. OHRVs are not titled in New Hampshire, therefore, no title, bill of sale or previous registration is required.
- Will receive a registration certificate and 2 decals.
- Is responsible for verifying that their registration and machine information is correct before leaving the registration agent.
- Must affix the decals as required by NH Fish and Game Department.